Daria’s Blog

A journey into the mind of a normal gal… Well..

Wedding Planning Begins March 24, 2009

Filed under: wedding — Daria @ 4:58 pm
Tags: , , ,
Wedding Rings
Wedding rings found through Google Images

As I may have mentioned in the past, I have been engaged since last April.  The proposal was completely unexpected, and not very romantic – but it suited the moment, if that makes sense.  My then-boyfriend had just gotten through with an interview to become a manager at a local restaurant.  He had gotten the job and we went out on the town to celebrate.  On our way home, we stopped at a gas station/convenience store and before we got in, he turned around, got on one knee and asked me to marry him.  I was shocked, but the tears came almost instantly.  It was definitely NOT how I had pictured it… Heck, he didn’t even have the ring with him at the time!  He later told me that he just felt that the moment was right and if he didn’t do it, he was going to lose me. 

 

I *did* get the ring when we got home – and it’s really quite lovely!

So, we finally set a date for August of this year, and we decided on going to Las Vegas.  I know that both of our parents will be a little disappointed, but when it comes down to it, it’s not their decision.  Besides, we will be using the services of a Priest, so they should be happy with that.  It’s just that churches are so very expensive  if you are not a part of the diocese…  We had found a great church in St. Augustine, but it was going to be upwards of $2,500 since neither of us were members…  Forget that!

Now, seeing as how I have never been to Vegas, I am completely overwhelmed by all of the options out there!  Chapels, churches, gazebos, helicopters, weddings with Elvis or Buddy Holly, the list goes on and on… 

I have been looking for thoughts and ideas though The Knot – which is  a pretty great website for the engaged and the newly wed!  There are checklists, blogs, honeymoon ideas, links to printers, caterers, wedding planners… I was thrilled to have come across it!  It helped me realize that there are a ton of details that I didn’t even think about!

There is so much for me to write/vent about my wedding, so I am sure there will be a lot more posts regarding it.  If I can figure it out, somewhere down the line I may try to move the posts to a separate page, as to not overload anyone with stuff they don’t really care to read or scan through!  Isn’t that nice of me?  I thought so!   =)
 

2 Responses to “Wedding Planning Begins”

  1. beeton Says:

    Oh I hear you! When it comes to weddings, think about how much things will cost, double it, then you’ll get somewhere close. Ouch!

    I was married three years ago and I found out about all these things that apparently every wedding must have – that I had no idea about! I decided to stuff the lot of it and just do what we wanted, which we did. Apart from a bit of parental interfering we did manage to have an awesome wedding (and without favours, chair covers or a bouquet toss).

    Enjoy the process, this time is all about you and your fiance and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!

    • Daria Says:

      Thanks for coming by, Beeton!

      I have had a couple of people say that, and in my head, I know it’s true. My heart feels like I should be doing certain things to please the parents, and the family, and the friends… That is part of the reason we are planning on going to Vegas. Sure, it’s not traditional, but I bet that most people who have planned a wedding have at one time or another threw the color swatches in the air and said, “Screw this! Lets go to Vegas!” We’re doing just that! =)


Leave a Reply

