Daria’s Blog

A journey into the mind of a normal gal… Well..

Woe is Me and my little PC March 4, 2009

Filed under: Computers — Daria @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have always prided myself on being a pretty smart girl.  I may not have a ton of street smarts, but I learn things pretty quickly.  I am also one who expects immediate gratification when it comes to her computer  – which is why this has been such a crappy time for me!

After finally deciding to wait for the Vista CD-ROM to arrive, I left work and went to Walmart.  Exciting, I know.  On a whim, I walk by their Electronics area and browse for a bit – you know, ‘just to see what they have.’  What I saw were some pretty affordable DVD drives – both internal and external. 

I left the area and went to do my shopping.  Dog food, chew toys for the new puppy and his parents, some juice for the house.  The usual.  But my thoughts remained on the drive.  My conversations with my techie friends had pointed out that my problem with the internet would (more than likely) be fixed by the upgrade to Vista – however, I couldn’t get the Vista to be recognized.  So, if I could get the DVD to read, I would be free from this mess.  Sounds good, right?

Riiiiiighhhhht….     

The installation went fine, but when I had to adjust it a bit, all Hell broke loose!  I now have NO icons on the main monitor, and no power or info is going to the second monitor.  UGH

After some tears and cursing, I gave up.  I am going to give it one more shot tonight and if that doesn’t work – professionals.  That is definitely the LAST thing I want to do, but so be it.

 

Leave a Reply

